KPJ Healthcare Berhad

A leader in Malaysia's challenging healthcare services industry

News Detail:

Media Prima bags leadership award

The New Straits Times, Saturday, 23 July 2011


KUALA LUMPUR~ Media Prima Bhd won the media and entertainment category of the Global Leadership Award 2011 here last night.

The company received the award as an acknowledgement of its contributions towards the global recession economic development.

Media Prima Corporate Communications group general manager Mastura Adnan received the award from Women, Family and Community Development Minister Datuk Seri Shahrizat Abdul Jalil.

Present were Information, Communications and Culture Minister Datuk Seri Dr Rais Yatim and his wife, Datin Seri Masnah Rais.

The award was organised by the Leaders International, a high-profiled business magazine based here. Other winners were Hancock Prospecting Pty Ltd executive chairman Georgina Hope Rinehart, who clinched the Masterclass CEO of the Year award, and KPJ Healthcare Bhd managing director Datin Paduka Siti Sa’adiah Sheikh Bakir, who won the Masterclass Women CEO of the Year award.

Mitr Phol chairman Isara Vongkusolkit won the Masterclass Entrepreneur of the Year award while Smart Reader Worldwide Sdn Bhd co-founder Dr K.H. Wang took home the Masterclass Women Entrepreneur of the year award.

The winners of the Lifetime Achievement Award were American boxing legend and three-time World Heavyweight Champion Muhammad Ali, Permodalan Nasional Bhd president and chief executive officer Tan Sri Hamad Kama Piah, and Oriental Holdings Bhd group managing director Datuk Robert Wong Lum Kong.

The Philanthropist of the Year Award went to Global Village Champions Foundation’s Yank Barry while Jimmy Choo Couture founder Datuk Jimmy Choo won the Fashion Icon of the Year award. AirAsia Group chief executive officer Tan Sri Tony Fernandes was named Visionary CEO of the Year while Firefly Sdn Bhd managing director Datuk Eddy Leong Chin Tung won for the Community Airline award.

Naza Motor Trading Sdn Bhd joint executive chairman Datuk SM Faisal SM Nasimuddin won the Young Achiever of the Year award while the Automotive Category Award went to Proton Holdings Bhd group managing director Datuk Seri Syed Zainal Abidin Syed Mohamed Tahir.

The Special Achiever award went to Malaysia’s first astronaut, Datuk Dr Sheikh Muszaphar Shukor.